ANNOUNCERS REVISITED

Johnny Miller is going to be the booth announcer for the weekend rounds of the Players Championship. He stopped by the booth  today and joined Nick Faldo  and the lady announcer that is  Nick’s sidekick in the booth.

Anyway they bantered back and forth for several minutes each ribbing the other. During that spell of action, Phil Mickelson hit out of the bunker onto the green and his shot rolled way past the hole. Johnny gave his analysis of the shot, (I have heard this explanation from him a number of times). Phil got a stone between the face of the  club and the ball in executing the shot and the stone took the back spin off the  ball giving it instead overspin and the ball of course rolled way past the hole.

Nick responded, “boy you have good eye sight, I thought he just hit it too hard.”

I LOVED IT.

4 Comments

  1. setty said,

    May 12, 2007 at 2:56 pm

    On the same subject, I saw Judy Rankin at the announcers desk at last week’s LPGA event and she really shows the effect of her cancer. I doubt if she will ever be an on the course commentator. She doesn’t look like she could walk the course.

  2. setty said,

    May 13, 2007 at 11:46 pm

    I hate to bring this subject up again (NOT), but I can’t leave it alone. Today at the Players Champioinship, Sean O’Haire found himself in a bunker right in front of the green. All the announcers agreed it was an easy bunker shot. Well Sean dubbed the shot and it barely made it out of the bunker and was a foot or two short of the green. Johnny of course had his explanation for the mistake, and Roger Maltbie suggested that maybe the bunker was just recently raked and the sand was very loose and when the shot was struck the looseness of the sand cushioned the shot and it became much shorter than intended. One of the announcers – not sure which – opined that it might have been a pebble. This was obviously a intended to stick the needle into Johnny and twist it. Another announcer said, “let’s don’t go there.” Again, I LOVED IT.

  3. Bruce S. said,

    May 14, 2007 at 3:31 am

    We had a house-full today with two TVs going so the sound was off on the golf. You know I like Judy Rankin. Everything I can read on her at the moment gives me the impression that her cancer was not expected to be life threatening at this time. Are you thinking they may be wrong.

    And none of what I read says anything about being related to Raymond Floyd. What was that you said about that?

  4. setty said,

    May 14, 2007 at 12:44 pm

    Some how I can recall hearing it said she was Floyd’s sister. I could be all wet.
    I know nothing about her cancer, except you said she had cancer. I just was shocked to see her on TV these past two weeks.


Leave a comment