MORE OF SAME

I told this story to Jennifer and Jim and they thought it warranted a post in my blog. It has the same flavor as some of my other posts. Thus the title ” More of the Same”.

The other evening I biked over to the Java Cone – which has also gotten recognition on my blog – for an ice cream cone. After getting off my bike, I walked over to the order window and as I passed a group of three people eating their ice cream, the younger lady in the group smiled at me and I smiled back, of course. I got my ice cream and sat at a near by table.

The three people one man, the husband of the smilie woman, an older woman, the mother of one or the other, and the lady who smiled at me were engaged in animated conversation. I couldn’t make out what they were saying, but noted it was interspersed with some good natured kidding and tickling. Finally, the younger woman came over to my table and sat down next to me.  She asked, “do you ride that bike very much”? I replied,  “I use it for errands and take short rides on it on the trail that goes from Eastern down to Division and back.”  Then she said, “can I ask you another question”. this happens often enough that I knew what was coming.  And I imagine you can guess too!  She said, ” tell me how old you are”. I said, “do you really want to know”.  She assured me she did, so I gave her the bad news. After I told her, she spoke out a little louder, “ocho y siete” (sp?). She was relaying to her group my age in Spanish or some other Latin language. I said to her, ” you must be Spanish, I am surprised”. She said, “why are you surprised at that”. I told her I thought she looked like she might be from some Eastern European country like Rumania or Slovokia or similar, she didn’t look very Latino to me.

I went on to say that if she was surprised to see a old duffer like me riding a bike, she would probably be even more surprised to learn that I teach dancing. We parted talking about her love of dancing and various Latin dances. As she left, I invited her to one of my classes. I am not holding my breath for her to show up.

4 Comments

  1. Barbara said,

    September 16, 2007 at 8:23 pm

    I assume the weather inviting outdoor ice cream store visits is soon coming to an end, but we can surely hope that your bike riding/dancing days are not 🙂

  2. 5najeras said,

    September 19, 2007 at 6:00 pm

    I think it’s safe to say you are in better shape than I am.

  3. laterain said,

    September 23, 2007 at 3:22 am

    ocho y siete is eighty-seven. seriously?

  4. laterain said,

    September 23, 2007 at 3:22 am

    ps–I am “treinte y siete” (37) and couldn’t ride a bicycle two blocks if my fat little life depended on it . . .


Leave a Reply

