CRS (can’t remember stuff)

Yesterday as I was deciding what to do for the devotions at Raybrook Nursing Home, I thought I might try getting the residents to join me in the prayer after reading a devotion from Max Lucado’s booklet “Grace for the Moment”. I had tried this once before and found it not very successful. The residents seemed to not be aware of what I was expecting.

 

On this day, after I completed the devotional material, I announced that we would have a communal prayer. All joining in either verbally or following along in their mind, as we said the Lord’s Prayer together.

 

There are two dining rooms. The PA system is heard in both rooms. The microphone is in the room where the more handicapped diners eat – the ones that require meal mates, also, the ones not likely to follow me verbally in prayer.

 

I got down to somewhere around “forgive us our debts”, and my mind went completely blank. I just stood there with the mike in my hand, saying nothing. Fortunately there was one lady who was saying the prayer verbally, and I heard where she was, and joined in to end the prayer.

 

I am probably not going to get invited to the next banquet honoring the volunteers.

 

6 Comments

  1. Barbara said,

    June 15, 2007 at 12:28 pm

    Just so long as they don’t suggest you move in 🙂

  2. Bruce S. said,

    June 16, 2007 at 2:53 pm

    Was there some Dutchman in the crows that owed you five dollars that you didn’t want to let off the hook?

  3. setty said,

    June 16, 2007 at 3:22 pm

    You’re too deep for me. Try simple sentences.

  4. Bruce S. said,

    June 17, 2007 at 1:27 am

    Would it make more sense if the word crowd replaced the word crows?

  5. setty said,

    June 17, 2007 at 4:02 am

    Well I still wouldn’t get it if you hadn’t called to wish me happy Father’s Day and explained it. See the problem is, that is the part I forgot. And, incidentally the one black lady, whom I dearly love, and Nick the Italian fellow I am now feeding, aren’t what you could call Dutch.

  6. gospelordeath said,

    June 22, 2007 at 10:29 am

    There is a great tune to which the Lord’s Prayer has been set. Learn it, and you’ll never forget it.


Leave a Reply

