CPA WANTED

If anyone knows of a widowed CPA who likes to dance, has plenty of money, and is about 70, please put me in touch with her.

 

Up until about the middle of 2003 when Dorothy started going down hill, she took care of all the finances. Then I started taking over and have been ever since. That is why the advertisement above.

 

I have been buying downloaded music from Wal Mart through a feature of Windows Media Player. I pay for each download $.88 with my Visa account. Therefore, on most every bill from Visa will appear a purchase, which I notice as I scan down the bill looking for any thing that might be phishy. Well, this month I saw an entry for Wal Mart Internet ISP and didn’t recognize it, and the amount as relating to my download purchases. I got on the phone to Wal Mart and asked about the charge. I was told it is for my Internet Service Provider, but as I explained to the chap, who must live in India, I use Comcast not Wal Mart. This interchange took quit a while incidentally. At last he got the message, and recommended I contact their fraud department. Which I did and got a young girl who must have been born in the USA. I explained to her the situation and she said OK I will credit your account for the $9.94. On reflection, I asked, “could there be more of those billings?”. She looked and found that there were up until the first of 2007. Her records don’t go any farther back, but she credited me for four more $9.94’s. Then I thought how long has this been going on. I went back to all of my paid Visa bills, which fortunately I was smart enuf to save and found I have been paying that charge since early 2004. I contacted the fraud department again and told them that this has been going on for roughly three years. I was told to send the back bills and I would be credited for the payments.

 

Now, I feel a little guilty about this. How did they get my credit card number, and why didn’t I do something about it much earlier. Well the answer to the latter is that I saw the other Wal Mart charges and didn’t recognize a difference in how the charge was described until they just recently identified it as ISP charge. For the former, I am beginning to get a hint of what happened. Every year when we wintered in Florida I would have to start up a new dial up service. Mostly it was AOL but sometimes Earthlink, another Netzero, another Juno, another PCPEOPLE, and although I can’t remember doing it I must have subscribed to Wal Mart ISP and forgot all about it. So it wasn’t fraud, but I paid for something I never used so I won’t refuse their refund when it comes.

 

That is that, now I get a bill from Comcast for cable and internet and a note saying, don’t pay this bill it will be charged to your bank account, I thought my Comcast charges were being paid with my Visa account, and sure enough I went back and found that I was paying with Visa.

 So to add to the narrative, some time ago I was a day or  so late paying my Visa bill and got charged a whopping penalty. I vowed from now on I will pay it practically the day it arrives. Which I did this month, but when I went to Family Fare to get postage for the bills I was mailing to Wal Mart,  I noticed a flier on the bulletin board saying we have run out of two cent stamps, and it occurred to me that I mailed my check to Visa with a 39 cent stamp.   

Do you see now why a CPA in the family would be a benefit?

4 Comments

  1. Bruce S. said,

    May 31, 2007 at 5:52 am

    Get a Visa check cashing card that you can funnel money into from time to time. And quit using the “credit” card. For one thing there’s no billing done ever.

    And simplify the 76 internet commitments you have, somehow.

    Good luck on the CPA. However, typically a gigolo has to go for an older woman with money. Can you imagine how old she would have to be to be in the market for an 87 year old gigolo?

  2. setty said,

    May 31, 2007 at 5:43 pm

    I am missing the 76 internet commitments. What is that about?

  3. Bruce S. said,

    May 31, 2007 at 10:20 pm

    I would have to start up a new dial up service. Mostly it was AOL but sometimes Earthlink, another Netzero, another Juno, another PCPEOPLE, and although I can’t remember doing it I must have subscribed to Wal Mart ISP and forgot all about it.

    I guess I am saying don’t get anymore.

  4. setty said,

    June 2, 2007 at 1:15 am

    With Dorothy gone, there will be no more trips to Fla. so no dil up service.


Leave a Reply

