AN INCONVENIENT TRUTH

Today I spent part of a birthday (or Christmas?) present from Jim and Jennifer to rent the DVD, “An Inconvenient Truth”.

 

I remember some time ago, playing golf with Tony and Bruce, that I made some comment that, caused Tony to exclaim, “hey dad, guess what, gramps is a tree hugger”. Now that I have seen the film, I am even more of a confirmed tree hugger.

 

I don’t know the elevation of Murrieta, but I do know the elevation of San Diego, and unless something drastic happens soon, Reuben should consider buying his kids water wings. Maybe by that time, they will be old enough and smart enough to seek higher ground.

 

If you get the chance you should see this film.

10 Comments

  1. Barbara said,

    April 20, 2007 at 11:05 pm

    Our church small group has said that we will watch it together sometime…soon.

  2. RubeRad said,

    April 20, 2007 at 11:45 pm

    Well, we live at the base of the highest mountain in city limits, which is 1592 ft, and the hike is supposed to be a 1000 ft gain, so I guess we live at about 600 ft. I doubt all the ice in the world could rase the sea level that high (likewise, if the Great Flood was global, and covered Everest, where did those 30,000 ft of water around the entire earth go?)

    I tell you what though, we watched Farenheit 9/11, and were mildly persuaded that Bush et al were less than angels, but then we watched FarenHype 9/11, and were profoundly convinced that Michael Moore is a lying sack of, well, whatever a 10-pound sack can’t hold 300 pounds of.

    So why should I believe that Gore and his Global Warming drones are any more correct or honest?

    We’ll probably see it eventually anyways. When I do, I’ll let you know how awful I found (will find?) it.

    (Nothing like an open mind, eh?)

  3. setty said,

    April 21, 2007 at 1:03 am

    I don’t think Gore and Moore, although they rhyme, should be lumped together. And, like I said you shoulod see it.

  4. RubeRad said,

    April 21, 2007 at 7:57 pm

    Well like I said, I probably will. And you should see Fahrenhype 9/11.

  5. RubeRad said,

    April 21, 2007 at 7:58 pm

    And they don’t quite rhyme. Although now you mention it, I think I’m going to start calling him Al Goore!

  6. Bruce S. said,

    April 22, 2007 at 11:32 pm

    Like Tony told me yesterday, six global warming conferences had to be canceled last week due to cold weather.

  7. setty said,

    April 23, 2007 at 4:46 pm

    Toche!

  8. setty said,

    April 23, 2007 at 4:48 pm

    Add a “u”.

  9. Barbara said,

    April 23, 2007 at 9:17 pm

    The most recent CT (it came today) has an article about green Christian colleges (including Calvin). The NAE is very supportive of environmental initiatives. And, for what it’s worth and to confound the issue, go to Ellen’s blog, click on Urban Onramps and follow that to a post about how Bush’s ranch is more eco-friendly than Gore’s home.

  10. setty said,

    April 27, 2007 at 12:50 am

    A friend of mine ( I guess he is a friend) sent me an email in which the home of Gore is compared to Bushes. In the comparison , Gore’s doesn’t come out too well!


Leave a Reply

