THE CONTINUING TEETH SAGA

Several weeks ago the titanium post on my left side began to project out of my gum. I notified the surgeon who said no problem, just keep the area clean. As I continued to monitor the condition, I thought my gum must be receeding because more of the post was showing. I also thought that I detected it moving slightly. Finally, it became obvious that the post was moving up out of my jaw. With my tongue I finally was able to lift it out of the jaw.

The surgeon was on a vacation and it was some time before I was able to see him. I thought he would right there on the spot put it or a longer one back into place. Because of the coumadin situation he wanted to wait until my appointment to put the pins on top of the posts (now post). That is the 21st of this month. I will stop my coumadin five days prior.

The post on the right side is now exposed, but it seems to be solid and not moving up. I saw Cornie Huizinga, my regular dentist, in church yesterday and told him of the situation. He asked when I was going to get the pin put in, and then said, “Oh that is just before I leave for a trip to Turkey, so I won’t be able to do anything until I get back the 11th of April!!!”. I asked if he would alter the denture if it meant doing just the one side and then doing the other side later. He agreed that although it wasn’t what he preferred he would do it for me, but he didn’t want to do it immediately after he came back because he wanted to first reline my dentures. By this time my gums have shrunk some, and the dentures were made from impressions taken when I still had seven of my teeth so they haven’t been that well fitting from the start. After the relining, I will get the metal receptacle placed in the right side of the denture. I asked if the denture would be held in place OK with just the one side fixed down, and he said it certainly won’t be as good as with two but I will be able to manage much better.

Then it will be waiting another three months from the 21st of Mar. to get the left side completed – if everything goes all right. That will be a total of seven months to get my new teeth so they are workable. In the mean time it is misery trying to eat and talk when the lower denture keeps coming lose and getting food under it. Going out to eat in company is very embarassing. Usually, about half way through the meal I grab a napkin and spit my lower into it and put it in my pocket to clean it out later.

I was asked today, why I went ahead with this rather than just get along with what I had. Well, the fact is that my remaining teeth were so poor and few that the partials had nothing substantial to hook onto any more, and there was virtually no choice. I could have, I suppose, had a couple of teeth put back in with the same technology that the titanium posts employees to hook the partials to. That seemed a poor choice, since that didn’t account for the remaining lousy teeth. Let’s hope this all works out well down the road, which sometimes I wonder how far it is!!!

3 Comments

  1. Barbara said,

    March 7, 2007 at 3:39 am

    This sounds so miserable and not what you had expected. But “have patience,” as we used to sing to the girls (from the Music Machine) and have to live out ourselves.

  2. Deborah said,

    March 7, 2007 at 8:41 pm

    How awful! Sorry to hear what a nightmare you are going through. Is there any pain involved? I guess this means we won’t be going out to lunch when I come out in a few weeks. I’ll email you about my plans.

  3. setty said,

    March 8, 2007 at 2:32 pm

    Oh no! We will go out for lunch and I can have soup or chilli. If weather doesn’t improve, chilli will be just right!


Leave a Reply

