VERTIGO

Tues morning, about 5:30 AM, I got up to go to the bathroom and was perfectly normal. About two hours later I got up and was as groggy as a drunken sailor. The idea that I might be experiencing a mild stroke immediately went through my mind.  I got my vascular surgeon’s nurse on the phone and described the way I felt. She relayed the message to the surgeon who was in the midst of an operation. She said it wasn’t related to my carotid artery situation and that I should contact my primary care physician.

I got his nurse and she came back to me with the suggestion I see the doctor. I made an appointment for that afternoon, thinking by afternoon I might be able to walk more steadily and could drive on GR’s slippery streets. His evaluation was that I had vertigo. One of his questions was to describe my dizziness. I can tell you the feeling is very hard to describe. From what I was able to convey he decided it wasn’t vertigo. Then he examined me for indications of what it might be. He finally had me lie flat on his examination table on my back and hang my head down behind the table. The dizziness really hit me then, and that was when he knew it was vertigo.

 He prescribed a pill (antivert) that might cause nausea was sure to cause drowsiness and might help the vertigo. I’ve taken two so far and none of the three has occurred. It is now Wed. and I think the condition is as bad it was early Tues. I cancelled one line dance class and may have to cancel tomorrow. If the pills don’t work, the next step is therapy. My search on the internet described a little of what the therapy consists of. Apparently, the situation is correctable. I certainly hope so.

4 Comments

  1. Barbara said,

    February 8, 2007 at 2:55 am

    Take it easy and be well!!!

  2. RubeRad said,

    February 8, 2007 at 3:09 pm

    Any idea how it could have come on so suddenly? Something broken in your inner ear?

  3. mart & betty said,

    February 9, 2007 at 2:43 am

    Sounds like an inner ear problem to me–hope medication can correct it; hope you get well soon!

  4. setty said,

    February 9, 2007 at 3:55 pm

    To RubeRad: The suddenness of it perplexed me too. I don’t think lying on my left side did it. What may have been the cause was how I got out of bed. I swung my feet and legs around and had them hanging over the edge of the bed and then gave a big kick up and then down to bring my upper body up into a sitting up position. The quick motion my have triggered it.
    On looking back I may have been on the edge of a spell like this for some time. When I get out of bed I sometimes walk in a manner that would not allow me to pass a DUI test.


Leave a Reply

