OUCH!

I don’t know if the surgery or the cost hurts the most. Actually the physical hurt was not all that bad. The dentist worked first on my lower jaw and nunbed it up with very little pain. Extracting the four teeth on the lower level seemed to be a little rough, but I felt nothing. After the extractions, he enlarged two the of tooth cavities. There was no pain involved doing that, but some noise and vibration which I was aware of. Then he screwed in the titaniuum posts that will be used to anchor my lower denture. I had thought that they would project above the gum line, but that is not the case. In three months after the posts are firmly fused into my jaw I will have another minor operation to open up the gum tissue which will have grown over the posts, and a cap will be added to the post which will then project above the gum. There was quite a bit of bleeding with the lower work and he had to add several sutures to the area.

Next he moved to the upper jaw, and that time the numbing exercise hurt like the devil. Three teeth were removed there and the biggest problem was one tooth which was so badly decayed that it broke up into a dozen pieces and he had to make sure there were no small pieces left over.

The dentures had been pre-made and he tried them on for fit, but didn’t want me to go home with them because I was bleeding so badly. I went home with a bunch of gauze in my mouth. Driving home was no problem, nothing about the novocaine causes drowsiness or associated problems.

Paying the bill hurt some. $4074,00 for a little under two hours work, and the expensive titanium. The $4000 also includes the operation three months hence and one visit in two weeks.

About three hours later after the novocaine started to wear off there was considerable pain, but the $4000 also included a bunch of darvoset pills and they did the trick. Tody, the next day, there is no pain and no bleeding. I am wearing the upper denture, but can’t get the lower to slip over the gum. Must be swelling or a bad fit. I say there is no pain, but there is with pressure in the area, and it hurt too much to try and force it down.

My supper consisted of Ensure with some ice cream blended into it. I think I wore more of it than I drank. Drinking with your whole mouth numbed, is quite an experience.

6 Comments

  1. Bruce said,

    December 14, 2006 at 11:15 pm

    We want photos! Do you have any real teeth left?

    I spent $5500 for 5 hours on my gum surgery so I feel like a got a deal.

  2. setty said,

    December 14, 2006 at 11:36 pm

    What do I take pictures of? I could include a pix of the dentures. I now have zero teeth.

    How are you doing now. Was there a lot of pain afterwards?

  3. Bruce said,

    December 15, 2006 at 12:25 am

    Dentures would be good. So would be blood. Or gaping holes in your gums. Anything.

    I am doing OK. There was a nice dull ache for a week and a half, hurt to chew, cold is crazy painful, but it is probably about 75% back to normal now.

  4. Aunt Barbara said,

    December 15, 2006 at 1:42 am

    Maybe the female portion of the family will escape??? (and the youngest, of course, Jim!!). Ouch is right!

  5. Bruce said,

    December 15, 2006 at 6:40 am

    Oh. I forgot to mention the one serious and very real downside to this surgery I had, if you care. My whistle is damaged. I think that some of the reshaping that occured in my gum line around my upper lip (on one side) has royally screwed me over. Now numerous notes just won’t sound. I am whistling along and there is just phht type of sound in place of the musical note I am expecting.In addition, lots of other notes that do sound, sound like 50% air.

  6. setty said,

    December 15, 2006 at 3:11 pm

    Oh by the way. The day following the surgery, I was scheduled for an ultrasound of my right carotid artery. It was a very quick procedure and I immediately got the results. It is 30% blocked. They don’t do any thing until it gets to 80%. Sounds good to me. I am scheduled for another one is six months.


Leave a Reply

