GO FIGURE

I have over the course of the year, five different line dance teaching venues. Of those five, two put me on the payroll with Soc. Security deduction, withholding, etc. the other three treat me as a contractor and ususally  pay me  for a complete 8 week session. The most profitable is a class that pays me $320.00 for an 8 week session. The sessions last 1 1/2 hrs and also involve driving there setting up my equipment, taking it down and driving home.  Roughly amounting to $20.00 an hour. The payroll example is Kentwood Recreation Dept. I have taught there over  ten years without a pay raise. This class is an hour long and also involves about the same amount of set-up time etc. I turn in a time slip and get paid every two weeks. Today I cashed my pay check for $19 plus change, roughly $6.35/hr., and then went next door for a $13.00 hair cut. With my mop of hair that lasts about 15 minutes. Is something out of whack here?

7 Comments

  1. Barbara said,

    October 7, 2006 at 11:53 pm

    You could go on strike for better wages 🙂

  2. RubeRad said,

    October 9, 2006 at 10:40 pm

    For $13 you can buy clippers with a set of 1/8″ graded attachments, and never pay anyone else to cut your hair again. It seems to be working for your son!

  3. setty said,

    October 10, 2006 at 1:06 pm

    But who opperates the clippers?

  4. RubeRad said,

    October 10, 2006 at 1:55 pm

    It’s not like you need a class II driver’s license. With the plastic guard on for the desired number of eigth-inches, you can’t go wrong. I suppose you could miss some patches in the back if you can’t see. And actually, I think mom is the clipper operator.

    In any case, I can’t believe you need to pay $13 for a haircut. Even high-cost-of-living San Diego is full of $7 barbers, and you live in Grand Rapids!

  5. setty said,

    October 11, 2006 at 5:27 pm

    But he doesn’t allow tipping!

  6. Bruce said,

    October 14, 2006 at 4:15 am

    There’s a lot out of whack here. Especially the outrageous claim that it takes 15 minutes to cut your hair.

  7. setty said,

    October 14, 2006 at 4:03 pm

    He has to sit me down put a bib around me. Get the correct size clipper in his machine crank the chair up to height. Ask me if I want it all over. Do the clipping, Lather my side burns, shave me. Vacuum me off. Ask if I aM going to Florida this winter. ChaT about the Tigers for a while, long while. (By the way, how aRe the Padres doing?). Take the bib off shaKe it out, Lower the chair. Give me back my glasses. If it takes 15 minutes to write about it, it surely taKes 15 minutes to do it!


Leave a Reply

