AMEN

Rev. Hozee has a new book coming out soon. It is the history of the CRC church as part of the celebration of the church’s 150 yrs history. The book chronicles the changes that have occurred over that span of time. When I read the present day Banner and compare it to Banners when we were first married that change is very evident. I remember when one of my golf playing partners was really upset when some of the teenagers attended church in jeans. Now most anything goes, even on the pulpit. There was a time when a solo or a choral group sang a hymn during the service, it was considered inappropriate to applaud the performance, now it is done all the time.

Today was my day to volunteer at Raybrook. One of my duties is to lead the devotions at mealtime. I give quite a bit of attention to this part of the morning. I have a book of Inspirational Thought written by Max Lucado, that I go thru, looking for a devotion that seems suited for the folks in the nursing wing. After deciding upon the essay, I plan a prayer that is supposed to tie in with the message, of course along with thanks for the provisions we residents receive, and the meal we are about to enjoy. Today after the AMEN, one of the CNA’s (certified nursing assistant) applauded my prayer. I don’t know quite how to take that!!! My instructions are to keep it short, and I do, so the applause couldn’t be that I finally quit. Any way this CNA is black, and maybe it is part of her heritage to applaud after the prayer. The CRC hasn’t quite reached that point.

5 Comments

  1. RubeRad said,

    September 7, 2006 at 2:13 pm

    Obviously it is time for you to abandon the sinking ship of the CRC. The PCA awaits…

    Seriously, though, I have that same problem. My church (which was OPC at the time) applauded me the first time I did a violin offertory. I found it quite embarassing. They haven’t done it since. They don’t generally have that problem. Even when the 2-5 year olds lead the congregation in a hymn once every few months, they don’t get applause (because it’s always structured that the congregation pick right up singing more verses after the kiddies leave off — otherwise there would undoubtedly be temptation!)

  2. setty said,

    September 7, 2006 at 8:41 pm

    Where do you get that sinking ship stuff?

  3. Barbara said,

    September 8, 2006 at 1:29 am

    He gets the sinking ship stuff from his dad.
    And applause is quite common in many black church traditions. Even giving God some applause is often done–not as passively as I have written. “Let’s give God a hand!!!” Not bad to help the Holy Spirit’s movement among the congregation along a little 🙂

  4. setty said,

    September 8, 2006 at 2:15 am

    I knew where he got it!!! Was pulling his leg a little.

  5. bmaddigan3 said,

    October 20, 2009 at 12:12 am

    Hi,

    Please see: http://www.Amenamen.com

    Help Us spread His Living Word…

    And Thanks SO Much… <


Leave a Reply

