VANITY

OK here goes, I have two for today.  I saw my foot doctor for periodic toe nail surgery, and saw this vanity plate on his car: TBITL can you figure it out?  I suspect you will.

 Next, there is a lady singer and entrepreneur who has a band and produces many songs for line dancing. Other choreographers make up dances for her songs. This past spring one of my dancers, who also dances in the winter down in Florida,  brought back with her the song and dance, “This Little Light of Mine”. I learned it and have been doing it with all my classes.  The dance is very simple, but the song has a good swinging beat to it. Today as I was leaving the Grandville Senior Center, one of the ladies who works in the kitchen called to me and asked why I dance to that Sunday School song. I told her it was a nice song to dance to.  She asked, “do I think it is appropriate”. I assured her I had no problem with it. Well, she let me know in no uncertain terms that she had a strong resentment to my using it. I am wondering would the Westminister (West) Seminary staff object?

3 Comments

  1. RubeRad said,

    August 15, 2006 at 9:50 pm

    As long as it’s not part of a worship service, I don’t see why it would be a problem. However, I might think it inappropriate to line dance to, say, O Sacred Head Now Wounded, or Oh the Blood of Jesus or some such. I don’t know if you can even line dance that slow.

    But let’s hear from the Westmister (West) Seminary student…

  2. Bruce said,

    August 19, 2006 at 6:19 pm

    I can line dance only if it is slow. What were the words being sung in your version?

    I’m not real big on the song itself. Talking about one’s self re sanctification/commitment places the focus improperly which can bring about some problems later.

    So as Dick Clark [American Bandstand] said : Nice beat, easy to dance to, words so-so.

    Most of the faculty at WSCAL are too young to line dance.

    I am more interested in the “no uncertain terms”. Did she elaborate much?

    TBITL = Toe Boy In The Loot

  3. setty said,

    August 19, 2006 at 9:44 pm

    I will try to make an mp3 or wave file of the song and email it to u. When I said I had no problem with it she said emphatically “well I do”. It was more her tone than anything else.


Leave a Reply

