She made a strong comeback and for a while was just one shot behind the leaders.  Her two stroke penalty would have put her ahead, but she faltered in the end and the others surged ahead, so her two stroke penalty only mattered in money, and that is no problem for her. She was interviewed afterwards and asked about the penalty.  She said it was just a dumb mistake that comes from not concentrating as she should.  Then she went on to say that the poorly placed divot had no bearing upon her shot, and she should have left it alone.  She said probably her finnicky nature of trying to keep the course as clean and well groomed as possible may have caused her to do a better job of replacing a poorly tamped down divot. My question is, “how far away from the ball is it OK to pick up a leaf and throw it a way, or how far away can one tidy up the course by replacing a divot without getting a penalty?”  I wonder if the rules address that question.  What if her ball had been one inch away rather than a half an inch or whatever it was?  Poor Annika!!!



  1. Deborah said,

    June 15, 2006 at 2:49 pm

    Rich Annika!!

  2. Barbara said,

    June 27, 2006 at 6:58 pm

    Poor Dad! Are you still working on your next post??

  3. Bruce said,

    June 27, 2006 at 11:28 pm

    I thought you (sis) scrubbed it. Ain’t it ready for prime-time?

  4. Barbara said,

    June 28, 2006 at 2:33 am

    I did, but in the process of sending it to me, dad lost quite a chunk of it. He was going to reconstruct it, but a full week has passed now, so I’m wondering.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: