Ten Commandments

I have been toying for some time now with writing an article for the Calvin Comment (our local churches monthly news letter) on the Ten Commandments. I keep putting it off because with so many theologians in the congregation, I hate the thought of maybe making a fool out of myself, because of my limited knowledge of it all.

I have been prompted to do this for two reasons. One, our church’s practice of preaching, roughly once a year, each of the Lord’s Days from the Heildelberg Chatechism, has meant I have heard, maybe 30 times, all about each of the ten commandments. But since there is nothing in the catechism about the commandments generally, I have missed out on that. Nothing about how we got the commandments, why there are ten, why the differences in the two Exodus, and Deuteronomy, versions. And any comparative evaluation of the importance of the commanements, particularly of the second table of the Law.

The second reason, is because I feel the commandment, “thou shalt not bear false witness” is so easily disregarded by Christians. Some of them rather prominent Christians!

Maybe you can either encourage me, or tell me that I am getting in over my head.

14 Comments

  1. ruberad said,

    March 6, 2006 at 7:19 pm

    Be encouraged! I want to read about what you propose writing about!

  2. Bruce said,

    March 7, 2006 at 1:59 am

    Are you afraid of the same CRC theologians who saw fit to allow women in the pulpit? (There is an article I read while in GR a while back that you showed me in that same magazine on gibberish speech that, having published it, shows that they will let anything by). I think you can rest assured that the golden age of theology in the CRC is over.

    So go ahead and give it a go. I too want to read your thoughts on the 10 commandments. I am especially interested in your thoughts about the Sabbath day. Crossroads CRC is in the throes of deciding to cancel Sunday night services as we speak. Don’t know the outcome yet.

  3. Bruce said,

    March 7, 2006 at 2:34 am

    I sure can be a pain, can’t I?

  4. dad said,

    March 7, 2006 at 2:47 am

    Amen

  5. Barbara said,

    March 7, 2006 at 1:29 pm

    Go for it. You could always check a good commentary or two along the way. Calvin Library is chock full of the–after you’ve done the textual study yourself, of course. And your editor stands, pencil in hand, at the ready.

  6. Gramps said,

    March 7, 2006 at 1:51 pm

    If I do it I will make use of my faithful editor. All I plan is to look at the Second Table of the Law and give my subjective view of how the six commandments should be ranked in terms of their qualitative importance. I can’t believe that “Honor your father, etc.” is more important than “thou shalt not kill”. So my starting point will be that the order in which the commanments are listed is not in terms of their qualitative ranking.

    I will probably, site other places, in the NT particularly, where injunctions are made against all sorts of immoral behavior that in many cases I feel deserve replacing some of the basic six in the Second Table.

    By the way where is that passage where Paul talks about the fruits of the Spirit and lists all kinds of good things, and then lists all kinds of bad things. I looked briefly and couldn’t find it.

  7. Bruce said,

    March 8, 2006 at 4:15 am

    Hey, go to e-sword.net and download yourself a very nice Bible software program for free.

    Galatians 5:18ff is what you are looking for

  8. Bruce said,

    March 8, 2006 at 4:18 am

    Check out Matthew 15:4ff before you write your article. Otherwise you just might run into the big guy who holds a differing view.

  9. Gramps said,

    March 8, 2006 at 1:50 pm

    I have e-sword, and tried to use it to find the passage. I probably need a course on finding things.

  10. Bruce S. said,

    March 8, 2006 at 4:34 pm

    How did you try? How could you fail? Did you search for the word ‘fruit’? That should have done the job.

  11. Ellen said,

    March 10, 2006 at 4:47 am

    A course on finding things? Welcome to library school… 🙂

  12. ruberad said,

    March 10, 2006 at 9:56 pm

    If you have a better-than-dialup connection, why bother with e-sword, when you can use biblegateway.com! They even have ESV! (But not my personal favorite REV)

  13. barbara said,

    March 13, 2006 at 9:18 pm

    So how’s the article coming along?

  14. setty said,

    March 13, 2006 at 9:36 pm

    As I said, “I am toying with the idea”.


Leave a Reply

