Sudoku

First off, I know it is crazy, so no point in reminding me.  Barbara and Chuck gave me a book of Sudoku puzzles. I began working them and found that though the ones I was working on were rated “Light and easy”, they were still a nuisance.  I had a system of solving them which worked when I could keep the bookkeeping straight.  The problem was, all my scratches and crossings out, usually led me into false answers.  So, I decided to write a program to help me with the bookkeeping.  The program evolved into a program to solve the puzzle.  I know, what fun is doing puzzles if they are done by a computer progra,m.  My answer is that writing the program is as much fun and more challenging than doing the puzzles.

Now the kicker.  The program worked like a charm as long as the puzzles were in the “Light and easy” category. Once the puzzle became a “Moderate” or above the program broke down.  So even though I have this program, I still can do Sudoku on the harder ones.  Right now I am working on a system to combine mental solutions along with my Light and easy program.  The idea is to find solutions through inspection.  Add them to the grid until I have a grid that permits my program to complete the solution.  I will keep you posted on the results.

Don’t suggest I redo the program to handle the harder puzzles.  I have better things to do. 

 

 

7 Comments

  1. Barbara said,

    February 27, 2006 at 7:46 pm

    This behavior is just the hi-tech version of numbering the checker boards, which you did when we were kids, so as to analyze and break the system and thereby win. I may have inherited lots of your characteristics, but this is NOT one of them 🙂 Chuck does his sudoku puzzle(s?–one from the newspaper and one from a little “book” I gave him) every day too. You guys need something to keep you out of trouble, I’m convinced…..

  2. Barbara said,

    February 28, 2006 at 12:02 am

    Me again. Chuck says you should write a program to generate the puzzles!

  3. ruberad said,

    February 28, 2006 at 3:44 am

    This is the sudoku program I use. It really simplifies the bookkeeping. But so much so that if you get hooked, you might find it hard to work them on paper.
    http://www.angusj.com/sudoku/index.php

  4. setty said,

    February 28, 2006 at 2:07 pm

    I found a Sudoku program, but they want me to buy it after 28 days. How much are you charging?

  5. March 4, 2006 at 12:24 am

    […] And the latest family member to take the plunge is my Grandfather. Always up on the latest technology, Grandpa has written a Sudoku-solving computer program for himself. […]

  6. March 8, 2006 at 2:18 pm

    (I got to here from Barb’s website, I’m a former co-worker)

    I was concerned with rating my consistency and efficiency at solving Soduku puzzles (I just finished the “Brown Belt Sudoku Vol. 1). Merely timing myself leaves too much to chance, and it also ruins the fun because I rush through too quickly and make mistakes. My system:

    I go through 1-9, across then down for each numeral, trying to limit them on the three horizontal planes and the three vertical planes. After reaching 9 and returning to 1, I make a little mark. Every time I reach a vertical, horizontal, or 9-block group that is full except for the last digit, I fill in the obvious and make a little mark. Every time I get all nine of a single digit, I note that and also in which “round” it took place. I then note how many of that numeral were already given. In this way, I feel good about finding all 9 of a numeral for which only 1 or 2 were given in the second round, but less proud of finding all 9 of a numeral for which I already had 3 or 4, particularly if it comes in the third or fourth round. I also feel particularly accomplished if I complete a puzzle after only 3 or 4 rounds.

    Rachel, my wife, thinks I’m nuts.

  7. Gramps said,

    March 8, 2006 at 6:19 pm

    My simple program looked for squares that had only one candidate in it and that was one answer and so that number was then removed from the squares in the same row, tier and square.

    I have since done most of my solutions by checking three squares (hor. or Vert) for cases where two of the squares contain the same number, the third square must have that number in it and located so as not to double up the same number in the first two squares, and with only one choice. If there is more than one choice there may be other criteria to determine which one of the two or three it is.

    I then also check to see if rows or columns or squares can be filled out.


Leave a Reply

